Movement Fundamentals

It has been a great pleasure to learn dances that are revered to be old and ancient, and also a great pleasure to share the learning experience with other dancers. Before taking on my studies, I’ve run into barriers, not clearly understanding the words leaving my lips to the ears of others; yet understanding that they were of great importance. It has been during my studies that I have finally come to understand those same words I’ve spoken in the past that were at one time indecipherable.

The Mover’s Eternal Return’ is a small creative outlet of my life’s purpose/destiny. It focuses on the ontological [nature of existence] theory of the power behind movement – in layman’s terms it is the study of the origin of power behind the movement and the effects of the surrounding space during that moment of motion.

There is a creation myth for everything, and my focus is on creation through movement. The following dream is of the ‘myth’ that I have been seeing, feeling, and experiencing for as long as I can remember:

There is always an obelisk about the height of my waist between myself and an emanation of the Divine Feminine. The walls to my left and right always show scenes of fertile nature: mountains and lush fertile lands to one side, a body of water bordered with fertile plains are shown on the other. This emanation of the Divine Feminine is always moving her arms in a manner to suggest she is conjuring the myth from its creation. It always manifests itself above the opening of this obelisk with a radiant yellow/gold/copper glow. She is powerful; she is my mother and sister, her energy is different yet similar and familiar to mine. My ears always become filled with pressure and goose bumps always appear on my body, chills run through me as I watch what unfolds before me. She is the Divine Mother, and there are always formless witnesses to the revelation of this myth. Only she and I share similar forms: woman. As I stare into the raised orb of energy she speaks silently to me, “Here is the myth, as it is embedded within you. Create it each time you come into being. Gather the powers that be; recreate the myth – the time of its creation”. I never did have to ask her what myth she was referring to. She never calls it dance or movement, she always calls it ‘creation,’ and the movements are always needed in order to create. It’s never a matter of which moves, but always an understanding and the embodiment of the origin of the power behind the movement.

The Primordial Mother never says dance or movement, but instead always refers to the act as ‘coming into being’, which can be understood as ‘coming into existence’. I am destined to dream this for the rest of my life.


This dream is part of the foundation within my movements – when I dance, when I walk, when I sleep – any and everything I do reagarding movement, part of it is grounded in this dream.

 

 


 

“Here is the myth, as it is embedded within you…

If you read this post from my dream blog, it will provide greater insight into what the Prinordial Mother is referring to when she says this myth is embedded within me.

 

 

 


Create it each time you come into being.

As she says, each time I take an embodied [INbody] life, this is what I am to do. Recreate this myth – rejuvenate it, bring it back into existence – each time I come into a physical form.

 

 


Gather the powers that be; recreate the myth – the time of its creation”.

When bringing a myth into being, there is a recreation of the time of beginnings. This is what I see in dance, in movement. This is dance/movement for me.

 

 


• “Myth narrates a sacred history; it relates an event that took place in primordial Time, the fabled time of the ‘beginnings’. Myths tells how, through the deeds of Supernatural Beings, a reality came into existence, be it the whole of reality, the Cosmos, or only a fragment of reality. Myth is always an account of ‘creation’; it relates how something was produced, began to be. To know the myths is to learn the secret of the origin of things. One learns not only how things came into existence but also where to find them and how to make them reappear when they disappear.” – Mircea Eliade, Myth and Reality •


 

I never did have to ask her what myth she was referring to. She never calls it dance or movement, she always calls it ‘creation,’ and the movements are always needed in order to create. It’s never a matter of which moves, but always an understanding and the embodiment of the origin of the power behind the movement.

When I dance it is for the Devas/Spirit/the Heavens. When I teach, this is my focus – embodiment from a creation myth perspective. This is why my dance is a devotional practice – it is in honor of and duty to this myth of creation. When I teach I am calling back the time of beginnings, with the intention of  supporting, and enhancing the experiences of my students.

This is why I do not adhere to one style of dance. This is why I have not followed a teacher throughout my learning process in the waking state [as opposed to being taught in my dreams]. It is not about the dance style in accordance to the culture it “seemingly” arose from. It is about the creation myth and the movements necessary to reenact it and bring about the sacred Time of beginnings.

I believe this to be the basis of all devotional dances. So it is not so much about the “culture” that it was developed in – it is about creating and cultivating a movement practice that honors and embodies the myth of creation.

While I do have respect for the “cultures” that created the dances I engage, I have more respect for what I have been taught in my dreams by the Apsaras and Primordial Mother. That is what I uphold and honor first and foremost. I will not call my dance style directly by the name the culture has named it; I’ll call it a fusion of said styles. Unless I have been given a specific label in my dreams to identify my dance style…

 


• “…One cannot begin anything unless one knows its ‘origin’, how it came into ‘being’. It is not enough to know [just] the “origin” of a thing, it is necessary to re-establish the moment when such-and-such a thing was created. This finds expression in “going back” until the original, strong, sacred Time is recovered”. – Mircea Eliade, Myth and Reality •


Want to know how to dance? Then you must understand the fundamentals of movement – and not just the technical/physical aspects of it. To truly know dance, one must know its origin.

It all begins with a dream…

Thoughts/Comments are appreciated

