What do your dreams reveal to you?

  Dreams are impartial, spontaneous products of the unconscious psyche, outside the control of the will. They are pure nature; they show us the unvarnished, natural truth, and are therefore fitted, as nothing else is, to give us back an attitude that accords with our basic human nature when our consciousness has strayed too far from its foundations and run into an  impasse. – Carl Jung  “The Meaning of Psychology for Modern Man” (1933). In CW 10:Civilization in Transition. pg. 317

I love this quote. It’s like receiving confirmation for the direction I decided to take this year.

It’s a major shift for me – from listening to other people around me to listening to what’s coming up from within me. I no longer feel the need to prove myself to anybody; no need for explanations. I feel at ease.

The biggest thing I am thankful for is having documented my dreams from the age of 16 AND keeping the journals. I am so glad I didn’t toss them out.

If everyone was conditioned to follow their dreams, and not what we have today, how would the world look? Wait, how many people actually pay attention to their dreams? Documents them?? Reads from them and takes note of the changes that are occurring in their life?

Those are good questions. I wonder if any of them will be answered.

___

I recall having dreams of always getting lost on a train, or bus; having to get off and back track because I got on the wrong train. I was late for my train; or going in the wrong direction and not knowing when to get off so that I could go in the right direction…and feeling helpless through it all.

Frustrated too.

Until recently…

I’ve had a couple of dreams where I’d get up from a task I was doing and would arrive at the train stop waiting for my train to arrive. I’d get on and rejoice, because I knew I was going in the right direction. Or I’d be on a bus, and the drivier knew where I was going and made sure I’d arrive, on time.

The feeling is exhilarating and refreshing! It’s the taste of crisp, clean mountain water on warm, sunny day, without a cloud in the sky, in an open field of lush, green grass.

To wake up and feel invigorated after such dreams, is telling enough. As odd as my new direction may seem to other people, guess what? It’s the right one. If there’s any need for truth, it’s right there, in my dreams.

Last week I dreamt of watering the grass in front of my house. It was green, healthy grass; and as I watered it, I saw the dead, brown grass wash away, down the path of the sidewalk towards the street.

What!?!? I’m on the right path!?!?! Really!?!?!

Who’d ever thought that becoming a full-time artist would be the RIGHT path. For me, when I was younger, it wasn’t something that made a lot of money, so said family members. So I needed to find something that would.

And that didn’t work.

But, here and now, it’s not so much about being an “Artist” in the connotative definition of the word.  It’s the ‘act of bringing to form‘ my dreams that’s been identified as the right path.

That’s my goal – to share my dreams through my skills as one who creates. The trade of an Artist.

Yes, it feels good to say “I’m an artist” when people ask me what I do.

I going to start saying “I’m an Artisan.” It just rings better in my ears…

Thoughts/Comments are appreciated

